I have a very exciting opportunity around the corner and God is preparing me rapidly.

Having always worked in the ‘caring’ professions, I know that at times I can be a good listener and offer positive regard. I can attempt to walk in someone’s shoes with them and not advise, offer platitudes or try to fix things.

My job at one point was to build relationships with hard to reach people. At the same time I would  attempt to assess their needs and signpost them to various different services that could help them. I’m good at engaging people.

My mum says I would stand on the street when I was five years old, tell everyone who walked past what my name was and ask them theirs (never get away with that these days!)

I’ve survived on a personal level in some dodgy circles over the years, my street skills are good and I can generally meet people where they are.

On a good day, my personal boundaries are crystal clear and I know my limitations. On another, I am left scratching my head thinking I could have done more. The urge to want to fix or simply be liked is there.

God is showing me that there are people along the way whose needs are so great, whose despair is so dark and overwhelming and whose circumstances are so complex and vast that in that moment they can seem beyond human help.

And they are.

No human can fill that empty fear filled place for another.

It is only God that can heal. In fact, to think I can is vanity and is like chasing after the wind.

Sure we are called to help by showing his mercy and compassion to others. To break chains, free the oppressed and share our food with the hungry. But without any understanding of our humanness and with no spiritual life to restore and refresh us, it is not surprising that we burn out.

And it is in admitting our weakness that He makes us strong.

The LORD will guide you always;
he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land
and will strengthen your frame.
You will be like a well-watered garden,
like a spring whose waters never fail.

Isaiah 58:11

